Author Topic: Last (good) pizza for a while  (Read 2073 times)

Offline wahoo88

Last (good) pizza for a while
« on: August 18, 2013, 08:33:36 PM »
As an incoming college freshman, I won't have any place to make pizza until winter break when I am back home.  Starting at the end of my senior year in high school, I began to experiment with pizza making.  Over the course of the summer, I have drastically improved my pies, although they still have a long way to come. This post is as much a documentation of my ingredients, workflow, and results for when I can return to my hobby as it is for forum discussion.  I have made lots of pizzas, but I've never had enough down-time during assembly and baking to photograph my entire process. This being my last batch this summer, I plan to fully document today's pies.

Dough: In my previous batch, I used this dough formulation:

Flour (100%):
Water (60%):
ADY (.5%):
Salt (2%):
Oil (1%):
Sugar (1%):
Total (164.5%):
Single Ball:
636.19 g  |  22.44 oz | 1.4 lbs
381.72 g  |  13.46 oz | 0.84 lbs
3.18 g | 0.11 oz | 0.01 lbs | 0.84 tsp | 0.28 tbsp
12.72 g | 0.45 oz | 0.03 lbs | 2.65 tsp | 0.88 tbsp
6.36 g | 0.22 oz | 0.01 lbs | 1.41 tsp | 0.47 tbsp
6.36 g | 0.22 oz | 0.01 lbs | 1.6 tsp | 0.53 tbsp
1046.54 g | 36.91 oz | 2.31 lbs | TF = 0.0816
261.63 g | 9.23 oz | 0.58 lbs

This dough worked well for me in terms of flavor, extensibility, and crumb structure.  However, I wanted to directly observe the differences in tenderness, browning, and flavor associated with adding more or less fat and sugar.  In this batch, I made two separate doughs, with one having 1.5% oil and 1.5% sugar and the other containing 0.5% oil and 0.5% sugar.  The hydration, salt, and yeast percentages remained constant at 60, 2, and 0.5 percent respectively.  I chose to group sugar and fat together (not change each one individually) in order to see the broad differences in an almost lean dough as opposed to a richer dough.

1.5% Dough:

Flour (100%):
Water (60%):