Author Topic: oven for home use: pre-fab or site-built?  (Read 2906 times)

Offline grafica

oven for home use: pre-fab or site-built?
« on: February 11, 2006, 02:57:57 PM »
Hello! I am new to the pizza-making forum. I looove pizza and we are re-doing our kitchen and hope to include a wood-burning pizza oven. I have read with interest many of the posts. I decided to make a new thread only because the most recent one ("Wood burning pizza oven") seemed to be saying quite a lot and covering a lot of ground but I was hoping to focus on two or three questions.

I have room for a wood-burning oven in a place where we want to remove an existing fireplace. It wouldn't be outside, and would require knowledgeable hookups to the existing chimney, along with building permits (since we would have to break through a wall for the back of the oven to extend into another space). So for these reasons it wouldn't be a do-it-yourself project for us.

Options would be
1. (most common and I assume cheapest) having someone install the type of oven that comes as a shell made out of several pieces of pre-formed refractory cement. This would be the style of Mugnaini who I believe get their ovens from Valoriani, who are relatively close to us (we are in Sarteano (SI), Italy). There are also a number of local places that sell camini and also ferramenta that sell this kind of pre-fab oven at fairly low cost.

2.) purchase and have installed a pre-made brick oven (from Naples; most expensive solution, though we are in Italy, so shipping is less of an issue; I have seen sites referenced here such as Forno Napoletano, Acunto, and SF).

3.) hire local people to build a brick one (unsure of experience and materials in this case, although I'm sure we could arrange to get shipped to us material from Naples, if that's important; I notice the refractory brick website given by pizzanapoletana is located in Rome.)

I'm hoping someone on the forum can give us some guidance.