Author Topic: flour and yeast question  (Read 3841 times)

Offline atlgirl

• I Love Pizza!
flour and yeast question
« on: February 20, 2006, 04:23:59 PM »
I just found your site today, and was thrilled!  I, along with my husband and three children are pizza lovers.  We just had an outdoor italian clay pizza oven installed since we felt we could not get the best results with our home oven.  What a difference it makes! I do not know how I lived without one.  I am new to making pizza at home and have been trying numerous recipes to get the perfect crust.  While in Italy last year we fell in love with their pizza and I have been trying to get the same crust as in Naples.  I just tried a recipe with "00"  flour from Italy, but it called for 1 oz of fresh yeast which I can not find anywhere.  I am having trouble figuring out what the dry active yeast amount would be to replace the fresh yeast.  If anyone could help I would appreciate it.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: flour and yeast question
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2006, 04:48:54 PM »
atlgirl,

To convert cake (fresh) yeast to active dry yeast (ADY), the usual recommendation is to use half the amount of the cake yeast by weight. So, for example, for a typical 0.6 oz. of cake yeast in one of those little cubes in the supermarket, you would use 0.3 ounces of ADY. On a volume basis, 0.3 ounces of ADY would be 2 1/4 t. In your specific example of 1 oz. of fresh yeast, you would use 0.5 oz. of ADY, or 3 3/4 t.

For an accurate conversion table, go to http://www.theartisan.net/MainCommFrm.htm, and click on the Yeast Conversions link at the bottom of the navigation table at the left.

Peter
« Last Edit: March 08, 2006, 12:32:53 PM by Pete-zza »

Offline Lydia

• Viddler
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2006, 05:46:24 PM »
Peter

This is the info I have on yeast. Please comment if you find an error.

How Much Yeast Does An Envelope (or packet) of Yeast Contain? (USA)