Author Topic: completely confused???  (Read 1892 times)

Offline atlgirl

• I Love Pizza!
completely confused???
« on: February 23, 2006, 10:12:16 AM »
Members,
 I am blown away by your knowledge on the art of making Pizza. I am an avid cook but find this all very confusing, ??? (poolish, %'s, flours, etc.).

I apologize for such dumb questions, but the only way to learn is to ask. Thanks for your patience! 

1) I see that Caputo 00 Pizzeria flour is used, has anyone used Delverde 00 flour?  I found this at my local Whole Foods, which I have tried.  It is expensive $3.50 for 1000g.

2) Has anyone used Flora San Marzano Tomatoes DOP, I also get these at Whole Foods for about $4.60 a 28 oz. can?

Last, but not least,
3) Any suggestions for someone just learning how to make pizza and knows nothing about bread making?  Books, web sites, etc. that might help.
(I  have seen Jeff's thread on Patsy's Pizza and when I looked at the spread sheet I had no idea what he was talking about).

The scary part is, just this October I had a wood burning clay pizza oven built outside while finishing our backyard! By reading your website daily, I have come to realize that I am not even  close to being ready to cook in this thing!  Although I have tried weekly to make pizzas out there and I thought they were really good, I see I am probably going to have grandchildren before I can perfect this thing.

Any help in getting started is GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!!

Offline 007bond-jb

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza & Beer
Re: completely confused???
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2006, 10:27:41 AM »