Author Topic: First All-Trumps Bromated Pizza  (Read 399 times)

Offline ogdred

First All-Trumps Bromated Pizza
« on: August 22, 2014, 07:00:58 PM »
I've moved to a new place recently, and my oven now goes to 600 degrees. On a day trip to Buffalo, I picked up 50 lb of All-Trumps, and here is the first fruit.

This is a 36-hour cold-ferment, Hydration is 63%, with 2% oil, 2% sugar, 2% salt 1/6 tsp IDY, mixed in a stand mixer. The dough ball is 12 oz, stretched to 14". The stone was just shy of 600, and the bake was 3.5 minutes, with top broiler running. Dough went in cold. Bottom browning was a bit lighter than I expected, but I just switched to a 50-50 semolina/flour mix for my board stretching. Not sure, but that might do it...

This is my first try at commercial sauce and pepperoni as well. Not sure if I like the Stanislaus "Full Red" pizza sauce, but it goes with the pepperoni, I guess.

Other threads recommend mixing the AT with some AP flour; do others recommend this? The 63% hydration seemed a bit wet, but the dough was very easy to work straight out of the fridge.

Offline tinroofrusted

• Supporting Member
  • Experimenting....
Re: First All-Trumps Bromated Pizza
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2014, 09:42:44 PM »
Lucky you. Not many people have an oven that goes to 600 degrees. The pizza looks textbook fantastic. Way to go!

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2014, 09:15:58 AM »
ogdred,

Your pizza looks very good.

The rated absorption value for the AT flour is around 63%. But the oil also has a wetting effect, so you might try dropping the hydration to around 61%. That might make it a bit more difficult to use the dough straight out of the refrigerator, so you may want to keep that in mind.