Author Topic: Overly elastic dough  (Read 2388 times)

Offline bbqchuck

Overly elastic dough
« on: September 16, 2013, 06:19:13 PM »
Hello Tom, et al,
I've been using both KABF and Smart & Final store brand La Romanella "high gluten" (approx 13.3%) malted, no bromate flours. 

I've noticed that both have been giving me trouble with being overly elastic. 

Being a beginner, it's like trying to read a diagnosis journal with a welding helmet on.   ;D 

I do know now that I'm under working the dough and not getting it smooth enough.  Would this contribute to elasticity?

Does more fermentation reduce elasticity?

Many thanks
Chuck

Offline chasenpse

• Battle Hill Media
Re: Overly elastic dough
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 09:53:51 PM »
I'm no pro by any means but I believe (correct me if I'm wrong) more fermentation = more time for gluten development = more elasticity. How long do you ferment for, and what hydration is your dough?
If Tetris has taught me anything, itís that errors pile up and accomplishments disappear.

Offline bbqchuck

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2013, 11:25:25 PM »
The recipe I've been using is from a Lehman/Pete-zza variation from reply 31 of this thread. http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php/topic,576.20.html. except I'm using the previously mentioned flour.  62% hydration.

Offline Morgan

« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2013, 05:26:29 AM »
I have had problems with overly elastic dough and the reason has always been overfermented dough. You might have different story, but you might look that just in case. If you are a beginner you might not know when the dough is just right.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2013, 05:28:11 AM by Morgan »

Offline The Dough Doctor

• Tom Lehmann
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2013, 07:55:10 AM »
Chuck;