Author Topic: Blackstone - replaced bottom stone with steel. Some one had to do it.  (Read 2266 times)

Offline rocky_creey

• I Love Pizza!
I had the steel sitting around so I cut a 16 inch ( used the stone to mark) by 3/8 inch disk and replaced the stone to see what difference it will make. I had already put the bearing mod in or I would not have done it. Motor turns it fine with the bearing in place. I'll report back but since I'm an amateur at the pizza business it won't mean as much as an old pro. I use pans and disk with holes so your millage may vary.:chef:

Offline Dan R Brauchtt

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Blackstone - replaced bottom stone with steel. Some one had to do it.
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2013, 05:34:18 PM »
Not all mass is equal, but I doubt if you or I can tell much, for lack of using our ovens extensively.  My first ovens where fired with waste oil & I used concrete reinforcement bars, this allowed for the heat to be evenly radiated.

Now it's back to my "Licker-Tee-Split" low mass, wood fired, barrel, PIZZA OVEN. I'm going to experiment with 3/8" steel too.
( can be seen @ dan r braucht's photostream)
« Last Edit: September 22, 2013, 05:39:19 PM by Dan R Brauchtt »

Offline rocky_creey

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Blackstone - Results
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2013, 12:16:57 PM »
Heat transfer was dramatic. Sorry no pictures. Heat was leaving the steel so fast that oven maxed out at 650 on the steel plate near the flame. I learned that with this rate of transfer I would probably get better results at a lower temperature because there was way more heat to the bottom than needed to crisp it. Oven spring in the cornicone was almost immediate.  Like all new equipment it will require time and practice to master. If you are a pizza extremist and or can make/obtain a 3/8 or other steel disk it may be worth a try. This pizza was cooked using a heavy Cuisinart AMB-14PP Chef's Classic Nonstick Bakeware 14-Inch Pizza Pan