Author Topic: Smoked Mozzarella  (Read 869 times)

Offline A-Neibs

Smoked Mozzarella
« on: September 02, 2013, 10:55:33 PM »
Hey Everybody! I have not posted or even been to the forum in a while. I started college about a year ago, and I've tried to stay focused and disciplined. I usually spend a lot of time when I come here. I miss the passion that is found here. One of my favorite things on a pizza is smoked mozzarella. I would be interested in smoking my own cheese, but I have no experience in the matter, nor do I really know much about it. I was glancing through Ed Levine's book "Pizza: A Slice of Heaven" tonight and he mentions in there that Pizzeria Bianco smokes their own mozzarella in the wood-fired oven using pecan wood. Does anyone know anything about this? I thought you had to use a smoker to smoke cheese. Aren't the temperatures of a brick oven too high to do so? This is something I'm very interested in learning more about. I hope these aren't dumb questions. As I said, I just don't know much about this. Thanks for any help!

Offline A-Neibs

Re: Smoked Mozzarella
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2013, 10:56:57 PM »
Also, have any of you ever smoked cheese? If so, how did you do it and did you like the results?

Offline TXCraig1

« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2013, 11:03:01 PM »
Also, have any of you ever smoked cheese? If so, how did you do it and did you like the results?

I could never get it to stay lit.  :-D
I love pigs. They convert vegetables into bacon.

Offline A-Neibs

« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2013, 11:08:05 PM »
 ;D ;D ;D

Offline TXCraig1

« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2013, 09:16:43 AM »