Author Topic: My first NY attempt  (Read 1571 times)

Offline kcbbq83

• I Love Pizza!
My first NY attempt
« on: March 12, 2006, 12:25:43 PM »
Over the last several days since signing on here, I've read and learned so much. What a great site and group of helpful people. I've been mixing flour water and yeast for nearly 20 yrs, I didn't realize how little I knew, at least that is changing, I hope.

Operating with crappy scales I had on hand and grocery store flour, I stirred up my first NY style crust recipe yesterday. I've read too much, and taken too many notes to be sure, but I think it's one of the Lehmann variations. My thanks to whomever is responsible.

For 2 16" pies I used the following:

25.3 oz flour (Gold Medal Better for Bread) 72*
15.9 oz water (filtered from my fridge) 76* after warming in the microwave
3/4 tsp IDY
2 tsp light olive oil
2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp honey

Using a small (pivot head) Kitchen Aid fitted with dough hook, I mixed the water and most of the flour (~2/3 - 3/4 of total) on stir for 2 mins until it looked like very thick batter, let sit for 20 mins.

Added remaining ingredients, mixed on stir for ~ 2 mins until things were beginning to come together then went to #2 speed for a total of 10 mins after rest period.

Off Hook Dough Temp 84*. Was aiming for 79-81 :o  guess my water can be a little cooler next  time.

Gave the dough a few turns by hand (I was surprised a dough this wet was so sturdy), less than 2 mins additional kneading, divided and put in containers in the coolest part of the fridge.

Wish I had the patience to wait 2 days before making pies, no chance. Will take the dough out of the fridge at 4pm (28hrs) for pizza making at 6pm.

Any obvious problems so far?

Any advice on shaping for someone used to using a rolling pin (leaving it in the drawer today)?