Author Topic: My first grease wheel!  (Read 1000 times)

amyamrap

My first grease wheel!
« on: November 19, 2013, 04:42:58 PM »
Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and I'm really glad I found it. Serious pizza expertise here, thanks guys!

I like pizza and i've eaten lots. In my youth I haunted the various joints in the big cities in which I lived. (Pizzeria Regina's on Thatcher St. in Boston is my favorite.) I found a woman who could both tolerate me and cook pizza and we wed. For three decades she turned out super fine pies of the home kitchen sort. So good, very good. But I wanted the next level and I rode her.. I put pizza  pics on her putter's desktop. "PUFFY CHEWY CRUST!" I insisted. She tried but couldn't take it to the next level.

I found this site recently and determined that I would learn how to make pizza. I had never made a dough, never cooked a dough.. ever. Never mixed water and flour. But I read many many of the fine instructional posts here, watched numerous videos and decided to give it a go last night.

The ADY didn't foam up or increase in volume as I expected but I did everything right (105 water) so I used it. "Kneaded" with a stand mixer for about 10 minutes total. The dough was never sticky nor was it ever too dry (as far as I know). I divided the dough into two balls. One I put in the fridge and the other I placed in a covered plastic bowl in the microwave oven along with a quart of hot water.

I saw no evidence of rising after 45 minutes. At 90 minutes it had more than doubled in size. I kind of manhandled the dough getting it out of the bowl. I was able to form the dough somewhat but not in the 9" wheel I planned on. It was very resistant to stretching.

The sauce was simply Hunt tomato sauce with garlic, oregano, and basil. I added two tablespoons of caramelized onions (I never made pizza but I AM the caramelized onion king!), a teaspoon of lime juice and two drops of liquid smoke. It wasn't bad, lol. Moozadell on top.