Author Topic: Burnt bottom  (Read 746 times)

Offline crawsdaddy

• Lifetime Member
Burnt bottom
« on: July 21, 2014, 03:27:55 PM »
I am at a loss. I have been attempting Neapolitan style for the last five years--first using Varasano's  recommendations and then moving to Craig's. I bought a Forno Bravo 60 about a year ago and there began my frustration. When I get the WFO up to 950 and above and the floor about 825-850, the  top cooks perfectly but the bottom burns, especially the rim. For example, yesterday at 950 and 850, the bottom burned within seconds of being inserted. After reading everything posted about this problem, I realize that this is not a unusual problem with oven management and maybe the answer in in the rate of conduction and this oven needs to operate at lower temperatures. I am going to experiment with making rims smaller and reducing heat---does anyone else have suggestions or experience with 60 in dealing with this issue.

Offline TXCraig1

Re: Burnt bottom
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2014, 03:34:44 PM »
I bake at around 825-850 on the deck, and I can all but guarantee your deck is more conductive than mine. There is a simple fix though - dome the pies when the bottom is done. Lift up a bit of the bottom with the peel and take a quick peek every 10 seconds or so. When the bottom is done, use the peel to finish the baking off the the deck. Quickly drop it back to the deck - turning it as it lands the lift it back to the dome - several times so that you get an even bake.

A small round turning peel makes this much easier:  http://www.gimetalusa.com/shop/small-peels_1_Small%20Peels_.php I make 13" pies typically, and I use an 8" turning peel.
Pizza is not bread.

Offline crawsdaddy

• Lifetime Member
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2014, 04:09:54 PM »