Author Topic: Need advise  (Read 1690 times)

Offline Sartanely

Need advise
« on: January 07, 2014, 10:21:19 AM »
I am located in Long Island  in five town area and looking to start part time job as a pizza man. I have no experience of working in pizzeria but been making breads and pizzas at home quite long time and able to comprehend things easy.  All the job openings I looked need experienced pizza men. How can I get started? I need this to go some experience as my intention is to go back to my country of origin and open my own place there. If some shop owner or anyone who  sees this post and who is local and gives some incites would be appreciated. I am mostly available from 5pm M to F
Thank 

Offline waltertore

• Vendor
    • The Smiling With Hope Bakery
Re: Need advise
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2014, 10:44:24 AM »
Everyone is in this position at some time(s).   I would find the pizzeria that you consider the best and talk with the owner.  Tell him you are willing to work for free for a week and if he/she doesn't like you work tell them to let go at anytime.  A real pizza lover/owner will easily see what skills and potential you have.  I moved around the country so much as a musician that I was never known in any town because I wasn't there long enough to build a reputation.  I often needed day jobs to survive and I always went first to bakeries/pizzerias and I scored a few jobs this way.   Walter

Offline JD

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2014, 11:14:45 AM »
I would imagine any owner would rather have an inexperienced person full of passion, rather than an experienced person full of arrogance. Not saying it has to be one or the other but hiring someone who is generally interested in their work would pay off in the long run. I agree with Walter, Face to face conversations would be the best.
Josh

Offline Sartanely

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2014, 02:24:51 PM »
Thanks I'll try your approach and see how that'll  work.

Offline weemis