Author Topic: freezing dough  (Read 1745 times)

Offline tshands

• I Love Pizza!
freezing dough
« on: April 09, 2006, 10:34:23 AM »
I am an absolute novice at pizza making but looks like I'm going to hanging around with you guys for awhile to learn from your vast knowledge. I'm was a chem major in college that went on to med school but that curriculum looks like a piece of cake compared to the science of pizza making. I'm almost afraid to get my new of Caputo flour out ; been looking at it for days...but today is the day to get out of neutral. Question: if I wanted to freeze some dough for future use and was using one of the prep methods that called for a 1 - 2 day period in the fridge , at what point do you freeze the dough in the process and how do you revive it at a later time? Thanks. BTW, I'm certain to ask some really dumb questions and I apologize in advance.

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
Re: freezing dough
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2006, 10:43:46 AM »
This is the way I do it. After retarding in the refrigerator for a few days, I form the dough into individual balls; those that will be used today are then proofed at room temp for a few hours. The others are wrapped tightly and frozen immediately. The night before I wish to use those, I put them in the refrigerator. They are thawed by the next day and I remove them and allow to proof for a few hours as normal.

The quality of the final product of these frozen doughs can vary dending on the ingredients. I have some breads that are even better after freezing. The last time I tried this on a Caputo/Camaldoli dough, the taste was great but the pies didn't seem to rise as much. You'll have to play around.

Bill/SFNM

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2006, 11:10:29 AM »
tshands,

Welcome to the forum.