Author Topic: Transferring Pizza from Peel to Oven  (Read 680 times)

Offline Riccardo39

Transferring Pizza from Peel to Oven
« on: February 26, 2014, 04:34:16 AM »
I've been making pizza for over 10 years, sometimes with great results, sometimes with disasters. One thing I've never perfected is getting the pizza off the peel and into the oven. I often find my dough is quite sticky and it can be impossible to get it off a metal peel. If I use flour or cornmeal the pizza slides more easily, but I end up with lots of smoke from the burning flour on the stone in the oven.

I think I may have to make a wooden peel as I've had better results with wood than metal.

I'd be grateful for any tips. I just hate it when I try to flick the pizza off the peel and the dough stays put but some topping ends up on the stone...

Offline slybarman

Offline DIY Whiz

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Transferring Pizza from Peel to Oven
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2014, 06:40:18 AM »
I have a metal peel and had difficulties too getting the pizza off the peel and onto the stone in my oven too.  After unsuccessfully trying different methods (flour, corn meal, dental floss, blowing air under the pizza....) I tried using parchment paper and had great results.  This is what I continue to use.  I have about an inch sticking out from under the pizza then remove it after about 2 minutes to keep it from burning.  I have my oven at 550 deg. 
« Last Edit: February 26, 2014, 06:48:21 AM by DIY Whiz »
Pete

Offline patnugent

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2014, 11:09:13 AM »
I also use parchment paper.  While I can/have successfully launched pies without it, I like that it takes any chance out of it.  If I had a wall oven and larger stone/steel I would probably skip it, but with a small target to get the pie onto it's really useful.

Offline badbrad

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2014, 02:59:46 PM »
Hi,