Author Topic: Help! My SD starter stopped rising and I'm hosting a pizza party in 2 days.  (Read 431 times)

Offline dbarneschi

I've been working with an Ischia starter for a few years now that's produced some terrific pies. In the past, I've kept the starter in the refrigerator and then fed it before making dough, but last year I decided to take it out of the fridge, leave it on my counter and feed it twice a week (not enough feedings, I know). Even with regular "neglect," the starter always came back to life after a few feedings. Two weeks ago, I used the starter to make some amazing pies. I then left it out for five days (went of vacation) before feeding again. Upon trying to activate the dough this past week, I haven't had much success. There are a bunch of small bubbles throughout the starter and a few bigger bubbles popping on the surface, but no significant rise. I typically wait for it to triple (get to max height) in volume before feeding again. I've been dumping starter and adding more flour and water, adding to existing colony, waiting 6 hours, waiting 12 hours, etc. but nothing has seemed to work. I can't figure out what's going on.

That said, I'm having a large group of friends over for a pizza party on Saturday night (it's Thursday afternoon right now). I typically get the starter in good shape 3 days before baking, make the dough 2 days before (TXCraig recipe) and ball the night before. I may not have this option now. FWIW, I do my bakes in a Blackstone oven.

What would you all recommend I do? Can I "bump" my starter with some IDY and still warm ferment at 65F, or would this be disastrous? I thought my days of using IDY would be long behind me.

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Offline TXCraig1

• Craig's Neapolitan Garage
I'm not sure you can judge how the starter may effect the dough in conjunction with IDY. If you have an IDY formulation you like, it might be best to go with the known quantity - or make two separate batches.