Author Topic: Tips needed to getting pizza to peel to BS oven  (Read 893 times)

Offline flyhigh123

• I Love Pizza!
Tips needed to getting pizza to peel to BS oven
« on: March 24, 2014, 05:02:05 PM »
I just got the BS oven. I have not made Neo pizza's before but i am now giving it a try. One thing i am not good at is getting the pizza into the oven.

Question:

Do you put the pizza dough on the peel and then put toppings on, or do you put toppings on the pizza and then slide the peel under and then into the oven?

What do you put on the peel to help it slide off smoothly? I have an aluminum peel and its annoying when the dough gets stuck on the peel, it pretty much ruins the whole pizza....

Offline tommy

• Supporting Member
  • Always learning, and struggling. And eating.
    • tommy:eats
Re: Tips needed to getting pizza to peel to BS oven
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 02:39:29 PM »
It seems like cheating, but I have been using the Super Peel for years now. Haven't lost a pie or been forced into making a calzone since.

If you're using metal, you'll have better luck with a perforated peel. Solid metal seems to be problematic with respect to sticking. The perforated peel will also scrape off the excess bench flour, which is a good thing. 

Consider the Super Peel. http://www.superpeel.com/

Offline barryvabeach

« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 09:05:26 PM »