Author Topic: New Haven Style Pizza Recipe Questions  (Read 2013 times)

Offline Sanzz18

• I Love Pizza!
New Haven Style Pizza Recipe Questions
« on: June 26, 2014, 06:10:59 PM »
Hey guys. So I am a beginner in making pizza but I can def see the progress I have made. I am from East Haven which is also home of some of the best pizza (not quite as good as new haven but close). I managed to get one of my pizzas to taste very similiar to John & Marias on Route 80. I do however want to get it more close to New Haven pizza like modern apizza (my favorite). So I have a few questions.

1. I am a beginner so I do not want to start with too high of a hydration so is 58-60% good enough? 2% salt? 0.5% IDY?

2. Any tips for making by hand (no standmixer yet)?

3. How long to fermate in fridge? What if I ever wanted to make dough the morning of? Will it still work as good?

4. I think I am going to use the broiler method next. I am going to set my oven to preheat with 1" pizza stone on top rack. Then, a few minutes before I am going to turn the oven off and turn the broiler on high to try to get the stone hotter. When I launch the pizza to I keep it on broiler or put it back on bake at 550?

I think those are all my questions for now. BTW all the stuff I did learn so far has been from this website. This is the best forum ever and everyone is so helpful!

Offline Sanzz18

• I Love Pizza!
Re: New Haven Style Pizza Recipe Questions
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2014, 12:03:19 PM »
Bump

Offline deb415611

• Supporting Member
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2014, 12:49:31 PM »
I haven't had Modern so I don't know how it compares to Pepe's but Frank was working on a pepe's clone about a year ago and I think he posted his formula. His screen name is polishpizza .  His posts might be a good starting point for you.
Deb

Online TXCraig1

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2014, 12:59:13 PM »