Author Topic: Pizza sticking to *^*#@ peel  (Read 3835 times)

Offline timmus

• I Love Pizza!
Pizza sticking to *^*#@ peel
« on: July 03, 2006, 07:43:49 PM »
OK, I am fairly new to pizza cooking and keep having a problem with the dough sticking to the peel where I can't get it to slide on the stone.  I -am- using cornmeal sprinkled on the peel before putting the dough on it.  Am I using too little?  Or might there be something wrong with my dough recipe?  I had maybe 2 tbsp all around the peel.  Lately the only way I can get it to go on the stone is to have me wrangle it and someone helps me with a spatula to lift the different parts onto the stone (which of course makes a bit of a mess).

Tim

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Pizza sticking to *^*#@ peel
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2006, 08:17:00 PM »
timmus,

If you can give us your dough recipe, I'm confident we should be able to help you out.

Peter

Offline billneild

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2006, 10:09:18 PM »
timmus, rather then cornmeal try this:  Buy a roll of parchment paper at the local megamart.  Cut off a square piece and fold it in half then half again, etc. forming a wedge.  Cut off the wide end, unfold and you will have a perfect circle.  Place on peel, place skin on paper, dress.  This will slide perfectly into the oven.  Depending on temp. the paper may brown.  It will not impart any off flavors.  works like a charm.  No mess in the oven.  Pete thinks it is a tad expensive.  Compared to the rest of the ingredients it is trivial.  Paper can probably be reused once.

Bill

Offline bakerbill

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2006, 05:10:37 PM »