Author Topic: bottom burning  (Read 376 times)

Offline salbernardo

• I Love Pizza!
bottom burning
« on: August 11, 2014, 04:12:52 PM »
I am new to pizza making. I have a pizza party wood oven. I get it up to about 900 degrees. I have noticed lately that for some reason the bottom burns very quickly before the top is fully done. I use Caputo flour (blue bag) and do a 60 percent hydration dough. Don't know if this is significant, but as I turn the pizza during the cooking process it almost seems as if the stone below looks wet under the dough. Could it be the hydration rate, the temp?

Offline Seven

Re: bottom burning
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 05:25:15 PM »
Can you post your recipe? Are you using sugar or oil in the dough and, if yes, how much? How long are your bakes and how does the top look? If the bottom is burning before the top is cooked, you may need a lower floor temp or a less conductive floor.

Offline AnonymousPizza

• I Am Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 06:38:23 PM »
Even as the complete noob that I am, and never having owned a WFO, my experience is that with very burnt bottoms, the method of baking is the culprit. But just a guess.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2014, 06:41:21 PM by AnonymousPizza »
I've come back for you, to remind you of something. Something you once knew.
That this world is not real.

Offline TXCraig1

« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 06:57:46 PM »
Burnt bottoms in a WFO pretty much have only one cause: excessive deck conductivity for the temperature. You will likely either run at a lower deck temp or dome the pies once they reach the desired bottom char.

My deck is almost certainly lower conductivity than yours - maybe 1/2 the conductivity or even less, and I run my deck at 850F; 900F on the deck is likely way too hot for that oven.
Pizza is not bread.

Offline stonecutter

• Old World Stone & Garden
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2014, 08:05:40 PM »
How long did you fire the oven before you launched the pizza?