Author Topic: Hartford, CT area  (Read 2034 times)

Offline deb415611

• Supporting Member
Hartford, CT area
« on: September 07, 2006, 08:25:35 PM »
having grown up in Connecticut i miss the pizza you could get there in the Hartford area.  :'( it was sooooo good. but alas.

Christopher,

What is good in the Hartford area?  I'm fairly new to CT.  Obviously I know all the New Haven names but are there any other good places? 

thanks,
Deb
Deb

Offline Glutenboy

• Supporting Member
  • Pizza & Sex -- Good? Great! Bad? Still okay.
    • My Pizza Gallery
Re: Hartford, CT area
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2006, 11:44:16 PM »
Hey!   If you are from New Haven, you probably know all about good pizza and you probably have very specific ideas about what makes it good.  There is a place in the Simsbury Commons called Luna Pizza.   The owner has opened a couple of other locations in the area like in West Hartford, but that's the one I know.  He learned his craft at Patsy's (now Grimaldi's) under the Brooklyn Bridge, and he makes pizza in the oldest school New York tradition.  It's definitely the best stuff in the area in my opinion.  Check it out and please post a reply so I know what you thought.

-- Glutenboy
Quote under my pic excludes Little Caesar's.

Offline apizza

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2006, 07:23:20 PM »
I miss Luna because at one time it was on Franklin Ave. Great wood oven. For whatever reason they left and I thought they were great. You can also try First and Last on Maple Ave, Hartford. A bit pricey, but in my opinion they are good at flavorful toppings. To my taste, just right, since I like things on the lighter side as opposed to excessive sauce and piles of toppings.

Offline Christopher

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2006, 10:23:44 PM »
hey, guys,