Author Topic: Re: Hi, any tips and suggestions on pizza dough  (Read 1974 times)

Offline calvin6969

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Hi, any tips and suggestions on pizza dough
« on: September 09, 2006, 07:32:37 AM »
Hello all,

I grew up living overseas for 13 years (greece, africa and germany) and travel extensively overseas for work -- To say the least, I've been all around the world, and besides Maryland Blue Crabs with Old Bay seasonsing, Pizza is a close FIRST in my favorite food.

I've had pizza in most every country and just love the way Europeans make their pizzas -- thin, light, crisp, yet chewy with a perfect blend of sauce, cheese and toppings -- Not the over-loaded pizzas most places in the USA serve.

I've been dabbling in the pizza making world for about 5 years now, but not with the results I am hoping for, probably for a multitude of reasons.  I recently found this site and have been pouring through all the messages and found them to be very insightful in my quest to make a good, if not great, Neopolitan style pizza.

My wife and I just returned two days ago from a 12-day Italy trip with the final 4 days in Naples -- The pizza was AMAZING!!

I befriended one of the pizza chefs at a restaurant in Naples and he was going to show me how to make pizza our final night there, but he got swamped with a large tourist group and didn't have the time -- Though he actually gave me his restaurant and pizza making shirt, litteraly off his back as a show of friendship.

After reading through the messages on here, I've learned I need to switch flours, but I need some help with other questions -- I've been using the standard pizza dough recipes found anywhere, but can someone provide better guidance, ie... using U.S. measurements (cups, teaspoon, oz, etc...), length of time for proofing and so forth