Author Topic: Yeast, autolyse and final dough temperature  (Read 1466 times)

Offline Jack

• Pizza; it's what's for dinner, breakfast........
Yeast, autolyse and final dough temperature
« on: September 05, 2006, 01:50:30 PM »
Last week I figured out that when using an autolyse, it should be done before the yeast is added.  I’m not sure how I missed this initially, but I just caught it while reading another post.  Also, I[m not sure what effect it has on the final dough.

I cranked out four pies yesterday at out pool.  While I forgot a thermometer, so I have no firm knowledge of what temperature the barbeque grill was running, the pizza was great.  It had nice oven spring, medium brown beginnings of char on the bottom of the crust and near perfect cheese cooking.  Based on my experience making pizza on barbeque grills, I suspect the grill temperature was about 500F.  I allowed just under an hour for the stone to warm up and about 10 minutes between pies.

While I’ve been happy with the taste of my pizza previously, this crust rocked.  Getting the autolyse right may have resulted in me taking another step upward in my skill set.

I used KASL, a 20 minute autolyse, 48 hour retard, and a slightly modified Lehman formula.  Kneading time was somewhere around 6 minutes in a KA Professional (Costco), with a dough hook, then about one minute by hand.  The oil was added during the final minute of KA kneading.

Water   63.0%
ADY   0.25 % (edit: yeast is Rapid Rise)
Salt   1.75%
Sugar   1.0%
Oil   1.0%
Thickness Factor 0.10