Author Topic: My first NYC(Varasano Style) Za  (Read 2144 times)

Offline GRAPEAPE

• I Love Pizza!
My first NYC(Varasano Style) Za
« on: November 09, 2006, 01:13:53 PM »
Check out my first NYC pizza'a. I used an 800 degree gas oven to bake them. My dough had no culture in it. They tasted great, can't wait to try with a culture. I've been making pizza for about 5 years at 500 degrees with the typical dough recipe. My wife agrees that these pizza's blew my old pizza's away. I can't wait to try this method with a culture. Much thanks to Jeff and everyone else that developed this method.

Offline GRAPEAPE

• I Love Pizza!
Re: My first NYC(Varasano Style) Za
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2006, 01:16:14 PM »
The pizza in the second picture was not only the best looking but the best tasting. I think I can get even better results once I practice this method a bit more.

Offline mivler

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2006, 01:42:59 PM »
Hi,

Can you give me specifics on your oven?

How long did you cook the pizza for? To me it looks like it could have stayed in a little longer (especially the first). I like a pizza that's got some char.

Michael

Offline tonymark

• Supporting Member
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2006, 06:57:34 PM »
800 F ???  The pizzas look like there is no heat from above.  Is this the case?
Beside that, the pizzas look pretty good.  Nice and airy!
Making Pizza is not cooking, it is Performance Art!

Offline GRAPEAPE

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2006, 06:58:02 PM »
I also would like a little more char on top but the bottom was getting burnt. My next attempt, I plan on using a cookie sheet to cool the stone before cooking the pizza. I'll also experiment with putting the stone at different levels other than the middle.

Offline GRAPEAPE

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2006, 06:59:27 PM »
heat comes from the bottom.

Offline GRAPEAPE

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2006, 07:01:09 PM »