Author Topic: Pizza Dough Concerns  (Read 1284 times)

Offline bubbles

• I Love Pizza!
Pizza Dough Concerns
« on: November 14, 2006, 02:36:35 PM »
I have been using the same dough recipie for many years. But since I have been observing this site and other peoples dough results, I am beggining to question my dough recipie. I don't own a good scale so my ingrediants are as follows.

3 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup cornmeal
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 1/2 cups warm water
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. fleichmans bread machine yeast

I generally use my bread machine to need my dough and then seperate it into three balls. I then put them in freezer bags and put in the fridge for 24 to 72 hours. I am using basic pizza pans without a stone although I do own one. I bake at 425 deg. for twenty minutes. The pizza comes out well cooked and brown but the crust is bread like in consistancy. I know that there are methods including higher heats and the use of stones, screens etc. But before I venture in that area I wonder if my recipie will hold up to more advanced methods?

Offline canadianbacon

• DoughBoy
Re: Pizza Dough Concerns
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2006, 02:58:29 PM »
Hi bubbles and welcome to the group  :D

For every person you ask, you will get a slighty different answer.  There are so many recipes out there, and everyone
like something different.

I see nothing wrong with your recipe.  I don't really thing a recipe can ever by "wrong" unless somebody is totally out of bounds
with an ingredient or 2. 

Since you are using a bread machine, I won't suggest you lower your amount of yeast as I have never used a bread machine,
however, if you were doing your dough in a mixer, I could say you can drop your yeast by 1/2, and save some money, and make
very good pizza. 

I used to bake all my pizzas at 425 a long time ago.  I now bake at my oven's highest temp, and my pizzas are done in 7- 8 minutes
MAXIMUM.