Author Topic: Looking for an outlet near Alaska for Caputo Rinforzato Rosso or Pizzeria flour  (Read 1584 times)

Offline iceman06

• Extra Anchovies Please !
Newbie here folks and trying hard to find sources that ship to Alaska. I am still having a tough time locating anyone that can supply the Rinforzato Rosso, or the Pizzeria flour up here. I had pizza made with both at a friends house in the lower 48 and got hooked on the texture and flavor it had. Anyone have a source they trust? :chef: Thanks, Patrick

Offline AKSteve

• Lifetime Member
  • We are all made from the same dough.
Welcome to my world. I have the same problems with trying to get good ingredients as they just aren't available up here. If you're in Anchorage, you might want to ask Natural Pantry if they can special order some flour for you. They're the only retail store where I've found even one of the flours discussed here, Giusto's Organic High Gluten flour. Not what you're looking for, obviously. The only other thing I can think of would be to call L'aroma's Bakery at Sagaya's grocery store and ask what type of flour they use in their Neapolitan pizza's. They're the only place I can think of that uses a wood-burning oven to cook their pies. Speaking of ovens, can I ask what type you will be using?

If you have any luck, please post your results.

Thanks,

Steve

Offline AKSteve

• Lifetime Member
  • We are all made from the same dough.
I don't suppose you know a woman named Ann, do you? If not, this is a really weird coincidence. My family owns a small foodservice company in Anchorage and someone just called there today asking about this exact brand of flour. It turns out the supplier we get our canned tomatoes from sells it and I should have a price on Monday. I'm actually going to have them order a bag for myself as well. Is there much of a difference between the Rinforzato Rosso and the Pizzeria flour?