Author Topic: Quarry Tile  (Read 3496 times)

Offline PizzanOOb

• I Love Pizza!
Quarry Tile
« on: November 29, 2006, 12:26:17 AM »
So who here uses Quarry Tile to cook their pizza on instead of a pizza stone? I ask because I'm heading to Home Depot tomorrow to pick up some quarry tile to make my pizza's on. I know that you're supposed to get unglazed, but I have no clue of what the difference between glazed and unglazed quarry tile is. I was hopeing you guys could tell me.

What does unglazed look like? Is there a difference in look from glazed and unglazed? Any texture difference? Also keep in mind this will be the first quarry tile I've ever seen so I'm a total noob at it. Please tell me what to look for.

Also, how big of a slab of quarry tile do you think I can get? I'm honestly looking for one that's 20 inches in diameter. Do you think that'll be possible?

I appreciate all your help in advance.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Quarry Tile
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2006, 12:49:41 AM »
PizzanOOb,

When I use tiles it is usually in combination with a pizza stone, although many members use only tiles. The tiles I purchased, from Home Depot, are shown here: http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php/topic,2580.msg22751.html#msg22751. As you will see from that post, tiles usually come in squares, not a single, large piece as you appear to have in mind. When I bought the tiles, I asked the salesperson to confirm that the tiles were unglazed. Before heading off to Home Depot, you may want to measure the inside dimensions of your oven to determine how many tiles to purchase. You might also read the other posts in the same thread as the aboverefenced post. There is a lot of useful information there.

Peter

Offline Wallman

• Supporting Member
  • I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2006, 04:22:03 PM »