Author Topic: What does "docked" mean?  (Read 3392 times)

Offline stryped

• I Love Pizza!
What does "docked" mean?
« on: December 01, 2006, 11:41:42 AM »
I am a complete newbie and wanting to maybe try a thin crust recipe on the main page. (Pizza INN??) In the directions it says something about "docking"? What is that.

Also, I have a pizza pan with hole sin the bottom. Never used it. What exactly is that used for?

Offline Fio

• Cook it HOT.
Re: What does "docked" mean?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2006, 11:46:09 AM »
docking dough means perforating the surface with tines of a fork or a special spiked roller to pop bubbles and keep the dough flat.  In pizza making, it is used in thin cracker crusts and sometimes in deep dish chicago pies.

If you've ever notited the pin buggers on the top of a saltine cracker - that's docking.

As to the perforated pan, I guess it's supposed to allow more heat to the crust and allow some evaporation so you don't get a soggy crust.

Do yourself a favor.  Use the pan for serving and bake the pizza on a stone.  It's the only way.
Since joining this forum, I've begun using words like "autolyze" and have become anal about baker's percents.  My dough is forever changed.

Offline stryped

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2006, 12:02:27 PM »
I have a small pampered chef stone. The directions say to pre heat the oven to 475 then put the pizza in. Can I prepare the pizz directly on the stone then place it inside the pre heated oven or do I have to preheat the stone too?

At what time do I prick the dow with a fork?

Can I freeze the dough to use at a later time?

I appreciate any help!

This is the recpie i was looking at. Is it any good?It seems easy http://www.pizzamaking.com/pizzainnstyle.php

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2006, 12:05:36 PM »