Author Topic: What if I like browned cheese?  (Read 2128 times)

Offline franzel

• I Love Pizza!
What if I like browned cheese?
« on: December 05, 2006, 04:57:46 PM »
Hi all,

I'm very new to amateur pizza making, so I have a pretty basic question:

What's the best way to preserve any kind of cheese stretch and still get decent browning?  The reason I ask is because both my wife and I enjoy browned cheese, but from my reading of the boards, that will kill the stretchiness.  Is there any way around this conundrum?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks

franzel

Offline pizzoid

• Lifetime Member
  • A Hideous, Addictive, substance dependency
Re: What if I like browned cheese?
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2006, 05:13:37 PM »
What's the best way to preserve any kind of cheese stretch and still get decent browning?  The reason I ask is because both my wife and I enjoy browned cheese, but from my reading of the boards, that will kill the stretchiness.  Is there any way around this conundrum?

Many with more knowledge are on this board, but I would posit  that making the cheese layer thicker, would, in a high enough temperature oven, lead to surface browning with a sufficient amount of un-browned cheese below to provide the stretch. Remember to make the rim thicker to hold in the extra cheese!

- Al

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2006, 05:59:10 PM »