Author Topic: Caputo OO Conversion Factor  (Read 2019 times)

Offline dikaryon

Caputo OO Conversion Factor
« on: January 21, 2007, 01:20:06 PM »
Long time lurker, first time poster here.

Hey all. Been reading this forum for about a year now, and have learned more than all my other pizza resources. Thanks for all the bleeding edge research!

Quick question. I've been using Caputo OO Blue for about 6 months now, and am used to the fact that hydration levels need to be adjusted downward considerably compared to other flours. I am currently experimenting with 57% for my Neapolitan-style pies, and am pretty happy with the results.

My question is whether anyone here has worked out a reliable conversion factor for this or other OO flours, such that you can easily convert a recipe from one to the other. I also use OO for No-Knead bread recipes, to great effect, but the 75% hydration I use in that recipe results in a very wet batter that is useable, but perhaps wetter than it needs to be.

If KASL pie calls for 63-65% and OO calls for 57%, that would give around 0.9 for a conversion factor. Anyone have a more accurate number they use?

Thanks in advace
Andrew

Offline dikaryon

Re: Caputo OO Conversion Factor
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2007, 03:46:00 PM »
I'm surprised with all those using OO type flours around here that no one had an answer to this question.

Well, never mind, I put my guestimate to the test, using Jim Lahey's No-knead bread recipe as the benchmark. I made one batch of that using my modified recipe, with AP flour at 75% hydration. I then made the same recipe using Caputo OO blue, at 67.5% hydration (using the conversion factor of 0.9). The two dough balls (blobs, really) were more or less identical in shape & texture. The OO was maybe a hair more wet than the AP, but 0.9 seems close enough for government work.

Andrew

Offline AP

• I Love Pizza!
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2007, 03:34:29 PM »