Author Topic: Flour and protein ???  (Read 2160 times)

Offline bangtango

Flour and protein ???
« on: November 18, 2007, 07:03:28 PM »
I found King Arthur flour dough at my grocery store, many different types of this brand. I read somewhere on the site for the thin cracker crust to use a bread flour with a high protein %. I looked today on the labels and could only find the protein in grams ( g ) . Did I miss something on the label ? or should I just use the flour with the highest grams ? ( g ) any info would help as I am new to this.
Thankyou.

Offline asheborobluecomets

Re: Flour and protein ???
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 08:28:38 PM »
I'm new at this also ... but this is how I understand it. On my bag of Harvest King Bread Flour it reads Serving Size 1/4 cup (30g).  Then lower it reads Protein 4g.  I divide the 4 grams of protein by the 30 grams of serving size & that equals 13.3333% .   I hope this correct ... if not this forum is fantastic & I will be corrected!  Good luck!!!!
 :)

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2007, 09:54:32 PM »
I'm new at this also ... but this is how I understand it. On my bag of Harvest King Bread Flour it reads Serving Size 1/4 cup (30g).  Then lower it reads Protein 4g.  I divide the 4 grams of protein by the 30 grams of serving size & that equals 13.3333% .   I hope this correct ...