Author Topic: Starters...General Questions  (Read 1957 times)

Offline iceman3876

• I Love Pizza!
Starters...General Questions
« on: March 24, 2007, 09:59:24 AM »
Questions

I am new to the idea of starters and need some guidance.

1. What are the main advantages to using a starter?

2. Are starter weights subtracted from the usual weight of a dough when added in to dough?

3. If starters were left on counter (covered with cloth), how long could they survive without spoilage or    whatever term aplies?

4. Whats the advantage to a mail order starter?

5. Is idy yeast also used in conjunction with starters when mixing dough for slow rise? (

Thanks so much?

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Starters...General Questions
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2007, 10:38:15 PM »
iceman3876,

I’ll take a first stab at your questions, and others may add their own comments.

The main advantages of using a starter in my opinion are the contributions of the starter to a more intense and complex crust flavor and aromas, and better crust texture and structure. Consequently, the pizza will have a more artisanal, and less commercial, character. When using a natural starter, the crust will also not stale as quickly, although this is normally not an issue for a bread product like a pizza crust that is usually completely consumed soon after it comes out of the oven, or a reasonable period thereafter. Of course, if a starter is used, there is no need to buy or use commercial yeast. However, one must feed the starter to maintain it. So there is a cost involved either way.

Many recipes treat the starter (or a preferment) as part of the recipe. It is also possible to add a starter to an existing recipe, but this is a less technically desirable approach in my opinion and may yield less predictable results. To give you a simple example of how the math works in the former approach, consider the following:

Total Formula:
Flour (100%):
Water (62%):