Author Topic: Input on flours,.  (Read 1651 times)

Offline prochef_313

Input on flours,.
« on: April 12, 2007, 10:48:54 PM »
Hey wattup everyone.  My name is Derek and I have been a chef for the past six years here in Jackson, MS.  This is my first post on this forum although I have been doin research on this site for some time now.  About 5 months.  I appreciate all the help.  I want to open a pizzeria, I LOVE PIZZA.  I just want, need, or would like some input.  I also wanted to get in the loop and get to know everyone.  I have not been wantin to spend all my money on the expensive flours out there to make pizza yet so I have been usin your local grocery store brand bread flour just to get my technique and recipe down, and now I'm ready to step up to some better flours, I think.  I just figured if I didn't know what I was doing why spend all that money on a flour I didn't know how to use.  So.  Now I think I'm ready to step up.  I think I got a good formula, and now I have ordered five differerent flours from King Arthur and I'm testing them all.  They all feel so much better then the other, but I just got them in today.  I got Italian style, bread, sir lancelot, artisan, and organic a/p.  Underlined are the ones that I am favoring so far.  Food cost wise I am not sure if I want to use flours such as Caputo 00, but I am not counting them out because I have not used them yet.  I try to stay open minded.  Anyone else usin King Arthur with any good results?  I like the Neapolitan style pizza thats why I'm under this topic if you have not figured it out.  I am also just usin a Kitchen Aid mixer.  Is there a difference between the way my Kitchen Aid mixes and kneads flour vs. the larger Hobarts.  Another words will I have to change my recipe besides making it larger?   
« Last Edit: April 12, 2007, 10:50:59 PM by prochef_313 »

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Input on flours,.