Author Topic: Fresh spinach  (Read 2172 times)

Offline sanchez

Fresh spinach
« on: May 21, 2007, 06:57:12 AM »
I'd like to incorporate fresh spinach into my pizza.  I've never tried this before.  I'ma  NY pizza fan but it seems that spinich might be a better topping for Chicago style pizzas.  I'm really not much of a frozen spinach kind of guy as I prefer fresh. 

What would be the best way to use fresh spinach?  For both NY and chicago style pies.

Should I place it on top of a NY pie like you might basil or would the intense heat burnt he spinach.

I assume you could layer it undernieth the sauce on a chicago pie but I'd like to hear your suggestions.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Fresh spinach
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2007, 08:38:45 AM »
sanchez,

If you do a forum search, and also at the PMQ Think Tank forum, you will find a ton of posts on this topic. I think that you will find that just about every conceivable way of using spinach has been tried--fresh, raw, whole (including stems), regular/baby, chopped, cooked, blanched, steamed, plain, gussied up, sauteed (usually in garlic with oil), on top, under everything, etc. Each method has its advocates. See, for example, http://thinktank.pmq.com/viewtopic.php?p=10596#10596.

Peter
« Last Edit: May 31, 2007, 11:10:07 AM by Pete-zza »

Offline Jack

• Pizza; it's what's for dinner, breakfast........
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2007, 10:30:08 AM »
I wash and dry the leaves, trim off the stem and lay each leaf on top of the sauce, but under the cheese on my NY Style pies.  I have not ever layered it more than one leaf thick.  It cooks up fine.  Even my kids eat it.

Jack

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2007, 11:12:34 AM »