Honey was abandoned mainly because bees make honey and that would render the MM dough non-vegan. According to MM, its dough is vegan.
There are quite a few posts in this thread on the above matter. See, for example, Reply 1678 at http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php?topic=3940.msg184319;topicseen#msg184319
. It was through an email exchange between Biz Markie and MM that we learned that MM was not using honey in its dough.