Author Topic: Pizza Making and The Big Green Egg Grill  (Read 4015 times)

Offline doughdiver

• I Love Pizza!
Pizza Making and The Big Green Egg Grill
« on: January 04, 2007, 01:25:44 PM »
I am new to pizza making and have recently purchased a large Big Green Egg ceramic outdoor grill.  The grill can obtain controllable temperatures of up to 700 degrees F.  It will accomodate up to a 16 inch pizza stone which can be used with a ceramic insert for indirect heating.  It seems like the higher temperatire would be good for making pizzas and the ceramic composition of the grill should produce an even high heat.  Is the higher heat beneficial mostly for NY style pizzas or will all pizzas benefit from a higher heat than I can get in my home stove?  Does anyone have experience making pizzas on this grill?

Thanks.

Rick
« Last Edit: January 04, 2007, 02:46:10 PM by doughdiver »
Rick

Offline doughdiver

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Pizza Making and The Big Green Egg Grill
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2007, 09:20:13 PM »
Hello,

I checked the Big Green Egg website and found that people had "good" results with pizza using a basic dough that was not refrigerated.  I am interested in learning how to make a high quality pizza using a refrigerated dough, not just an ok pizza.  I did a quick search on this forum (which I should have done first) and on the internet regarding using the Big Green Egg to produce pizzas.   It appears that some people have had some luck using temperatures up to 600 degrees but anything much over that has created problems resulting in melted gaskets or cracked ceramic.  A high temperature aftermarket gasket is available, but I do not want to use it if it might result in damaging my new grill.   

I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has tried using this grill to produce New York or American Style pizzas.

Would it be more appropriate to post this question under one of the other topics?

Thanks.

Rick 
Rick

Offline vitus

• Mmmm... Pizza...