Author Topic: San MArzano Brands and Pizza Sauce & Dough Prep  (Read 3936 times)

Offline NOLA-Man

San MArzano Brands and Pizza Sauce & Dough Prep
« on: August 04, 2007, 02:38:20 PM »
Hi, I'm a newbie and first-time poster, very new to the pizza-making world and San Marzano tomatoes. I have a few questions, sorry for asking novice questions but I appreciate any help members can give.

1) I went to Whole Foods and also Central Market in Houston, and found Italian Farmers brand peeled DOP San Marzano tomatoes, 28oz. They have the seal for authentication that I saw on the fornobravo.com website, and they are stored in San Marzano tomato juice (not sauce or puree). Anyone heard of this brand? At Central Market (kind of like a Whole Foods on steroids) I found Carmelina brand San Marzano tomato puree, which I haven't heard a lot about on this site. Any experience with this product?

2) Regarding the peeled DOP San Marzano tomatoes, it seems that many posts suggest making a pizza sauce without cooking it (since it will be cooked in the oven on the pizza), which is new to me. My questions are, what might be a simple recipe for a not-too-experienced home pizza-maker, and (maybe answered in the recipe), do I handle the tomatoes and the tomato juice in different ways (reduce the juice, crush the tomatoes with a potato masher?), or do I work with everything together?

3) I also found Bel Aria Tipo 00 flour at Central Market, was looking for Caputo but no luck. Any suggestions for a pizza dough recipe using this flour? I have a recipe from fornobravo for Caputo tipo 00, should this work for this other brand of 00?

Anyway, if these questions have been answered 100 times over, please forgive this repetition, but any help is appreciated. Once I have something to go on, I'll be happy to report back about these products and their taste. Salut!

NOLA-Man
(As in New Orleans, Louisiana-former resident)

Offline Peteg

• I Love Pizza!
Re: San MArzano Brands and Pizza Sauce & Dough Prep