Author Topic: Ruh-roh....Watch that basil  (Read 1710 times)

Offline Jackitup

Ruh-roh....Watch that basil
« on: December 21, 2007, 10:09:50 AM »
What's next, so much mass production and poor quality control on stuff, now it's gettin' to the basil too???
Jon

http://www.wkyc.com/news/news_article.aspx?storyid=80177
Save A Cow, Eat A Vegan....Totally Organic And Hormone Free!!

Offline yaddayaddayadda

• I Love Pizza!
Re: Ruh-roh....Watch that basil
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2008, 07:56:26 AM »
Yipes!  I understand buying a lot of different ingredients, but basil shouldn't be one of them ;)  c'mon people.

Offline lilbuddypizza

• Cheesy dude
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2008, 03:17:00 PM »
As a USDA Meat Inspector, I have realized that people assume that meat is the only possible source for Salmonella or E.Coli, but you have to watch the greens too! I wash all of my fruit and vegetables in a weak hydrochloric acid soak (lemon juice, warm water, and salt) or FIT, the vegetable wash sold in stores. It does the trick. For greens, only wash before use, and use a salad spinner to get rid of excesss water.

Offline sourdough girl

• First the bread, NOW the pizza dough!
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2008, 07:27:11 PM »
Yadda... I'm guessing that your response means that you think we should grow our own basil?  I have a lot of basil seeds of various types and I think I'm gonna go plant some.  Even this time of year, with a grow light, they should do just fine.

Sad that alfalfa sprouts, spinach... and now basil... can't be grown in cleaner conditions so that they don't make ppl sick.  Hard enough to get the American public to eat healthy foods without this kinda crap going on.  Unless I'm mistaken, the problems with the aforementioned all go back to unsanitary growing conditions, which CAN be controlled.  I seem to remember that the issue with sprouts became seed-borne, so growing your own doesn't even eliminate (so to speak!) the problem.

~sd
Never trust a skinny cook!