Author Topic: Deep Dish success!  (Read 438 times)

Offline filteredsoul

• I Love Pizza!
Deep Dish success!
« on: March 31, 2016, 11:51:03 AM »
Just wanted to share a quick note with you all...
I'm originally from the Chicago 'burbs and moved down south to the mountains of Western NC back in '07.
With no place to get Chicago Style Deep Dish I started playing around with various recipes online EVENTUALLY to find this site.
You all have helped me achieve what I've missed so much from the homeland! I have read and tried many different techniques/recipes and feel like I have reached my plateau of deep dish love.

So, last night... I got together with some guys and made 2 deep dish pepperonis. One of the guys said "Hey, I flew home this morning, but last night I was in Chicago (Schaumburg) and I went to some pizza place in an old house... Lou Mal-something. Ever heard of it? I had my first deep dish pizza. It was incredible!"
So I was like... "Well, what do you think of what you're eating now? It's about as close as I can remember deep dish being."
He said he thought mine was better than Lou's! And then went on to eat 3 pieces. (of a 14" pie!!)   ;D

Not the Holy Grail of compliments being that the guy only had his first deep dish the night before... but to hear that mine was better than one of the "Chicago Standards" really made my night.

Couldn't have done it without you all.

Thanks again!

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Deep Dish success!
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2016, 02:11:41 PM »
Dan,

It's always nice to get that kind of feedback. But it looks like you paid your dues in terms of time and effort to earn the positive feedback you got. Making pizza at home to emulate well known pizzas is not an easy thing to do. In many cases, it is not so much the ingredients, although that sometimes is the case, but rather the oven. So, it can take a fair amount of experimentation to achieve the desired results.

Peter