Author Topic: New Electrolux- my review  (Read 2878 times)

Offline colossus

New Electrolux- my review
« on: January 26, 2008, 02:36:05 PM »
Just posted this to Amazon...let's see if they publish it. Many thanks to those that here that leaned me towards this- I am delighted with the mixer, and I've only had it a day.

Let me start by saying that I've been baking at home for almost seven years now, and have recently had a Kitchen Aid mixer conk out. I replaced the brushes, but discovered that the phase controller was damaged. This happened because the model I had does not have a over-temperature interlock. Due to this, the damaged phase controller burned out the contact point on the control plate. It sparked constantly, so the power to the motor was cycling power on and off- a big drain on the motor, not to mention the home wiring! So I adjusted the control plate to the point where the motor ran w/out cycling power...and now the governor is grinding loudly. My Kitchen Aid was out of warranty before I tried to fix it, and the shipping alone was gonna cost me another $40 w/out a dime being spent on parts. Since I've got the service manual, I decided this was futile- it would cost me about $100 in parts, and that was still no guarantee that it would work once I got it back together.