Author Topic: pie pics  (Read 2692 times)

Offline brian0j0

• lay off me, i'm starving
pie pics
« on: March 09, 2008, 02:40:28 PM »
after many hours of studying and admiring others work, i decided to share my efforts.  here are some shots from last night. i'll post the details later.  long story short they were great.

Offline brian0j0

Re: pie pics
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2008, 02:41:29 PM »
here is another

Offline brian0j0

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2008, 02:49:06 PM »
my dough is a standard lehman with 63% hydration and minimal yeast.  i have a starter but didn't use it for these pizzas.  i'm still learning to use my oven as i've never really cooked with a live fire.  i'll try to post a pic of the oven later, but it's modeled after rado's ovens on traditionaloven.com.  it's not 100% complete, but it's functional now.  it still needs a chimney and a roof, but we couldn't resist firing it up.  it didn't get as hot as i wanted, my firewood suffered as a result of all the rain/snow in the fort worth area this past week.  my guess is around 650-700 degrees.

i used simple KA unbleached flour and need to try others.  am looking for slightly more puff, so i'm wondering if next time is should increase the temp AND the yeast? or just try firing it to 900+ to see if i get the spring i'm looking for.

any thoughts/suggestions are welcome. 

Offline addicted

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2008, 10:05:43 PM »
That looks like a good start to me. What kind of wood are you using? Do you have a whole pic of your oven?
Well....okay,then.

Offline brian0j0

« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2008, 10:30:36 PM »
this wood happens to be oak.  we have a lot of oak and pecan around these parts, so that's predominantly what is used in the oven.  i've got a shot of the oven, but the size is too big to upload here.  i'll post a pic when i complete the exterior.  again, i'm looking for a little more puff in the crust.  i think a hotter chamber will help with it.

Offline cd1168