Author Topic: Napoletana Dough and Oil.  (Read 4907 times)

Offline givearats

Napoletana Dough and Oil.
« on: February 28, 2008, 01:59:11 AM »
If you are making traditional Napoletana pizza, when you make and divide the dough would you coat it with oil before fermentation?
Would that be considered adding oil to the dough?
If you don't use oil , what would be the best way to store the dough while fermenting?
I am new to pizza making and was curious about trying out a Napoletana dough.

Thanks for any comments

givearats

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
Re: Napoletana Dough and Oil.
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2008, 05:15:07 AM »
If you are cooking with traditional Neapolitan ingredients and temperatures, oil, even scant coats to prevent drying, is said to be detrimental, although I have not verified this claim. I store the dough sealed in plastic containers during fermenting and proofing.

Bill/SFNM

Offline givearats

« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2008, 10:15:23 PM »
Thanks Bill,
I like the container idea. I'll pick some up and give it a try without the oil.
They'll also be a lot easier to stack in the fridge than the zip top bags.

givearats

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2008, 10:36:02 PM »
I punch a small hole in each of the lids to allow gases to escape.

Offline givearats

« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2008, 11:03:32 PM »
Is the oil in the dough mainly for browning, or does it also make the dough easier to work with?

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #5 on: February 29, 2008, 08:05:39 AM »
Is the oil in the dough mainly for browning, or does it also make the dough easier to work with?

givearats,

Both, but to a degree, it depends on how much oil is used in the dough. There are also other purposes for using oil in pizza dough, as discussed here: http://www.pizzamaking.com/forum/index.php/topic,5273.msg44761/topicseen.html#msg44761 (Reply 1).

Peter

Offline givearats