Author Topic: Percentages ?????? Newbie  (Read 1603 times)

Offline pizzagrande

Percentages ?????? Newbie
« on: April 12, 2008, 01:32:59 PM »
 ??? Hi I am a newbie and new at pizza making I have seen where a guy says he used
100% Flour
60% water
1% IDY
2% salt
2% oil

How does this calculate to ounces or cups. Forgive the dumb question but it's confusing to me. Hope someone can clear it up.
 ??? ???

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Percentages ?????? Newbie
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2008, 02:16:05 PM »
pizzagrande,

If what you posted as baker's percents is all that was given, then you are correct. What would be needed to make sense of the set of baker's percents is a total dough weight, or a thickness factor and pizza size (from which an approximate dough weight could be calculated), or the actual amount of one of the ingredients. Even then, because the baker's percent system is a system of weights, the answer would be stated in weights, not volumes. Other methods would have to be applied to convert weights to volumes.