Author Topic: WTF happened to my dough!  (Read 2675 times)

Offline KoolDO

WTF happened to my dough!
« on: April 28, 2008, 06:39:39 PM »
Today I took my dough balls out of the fridge to proof and found they were enormous and had bubbles growing off the tops of them, looking like they were overfermented.  It had only been around 40 hours since I put them in the fridge.  When I tried to stretch them out it was all deformed and limp, sloppy like and had torn when I tried to do anything.    On a side note this was a huge expensive disaster, I spent mucho cash on my KA organic high gluten and it all went in the trash-I am not a happy camper right now.  This is my first time using the high gluten and I'm totally flabbergasted.  Here is the procedure I followed any tips or advice or insight into WTF happened is greatly appreciated.

Saturday, April 26, 2008

Papa Joe’s NY Elite Dough Recipe
Dough Ingredients:
Flour (100%):    882.64 g | 31.13 oz | 1.95 lbs (King Arthur High Gluten Organic)
Water (64%):    564.89 g | 19.93 oz | 1.25 lbs (Aquafina)
IDY (.17%):    1.5 g | 0.05 oz | 0 lbs | 0.5 tsp | 0.17 tbsp (SAF Perfect Rise Instant Red)
Salt (1.75%):    15.45 g | 0.54 oz | 0.03 lbs | 3.22 tsp | 1.07 tbsp (Atlantic Sea Salt)
Total (165.92%) 1464.48 g | 51.66 oz | 3.23 lbs | TF = 0.076125
Single Ball:   244.08 g | 8.61 oz | 0.54 lbs
Makes 6 12” pizze

I.   Dough Preparation

Step 1.Autolyse
•   Put 565g of water and 16g of sea salt in the mixer bowl and stir.
•   Combine 1.5g of SAF Red Yeast and 75% of the flour (662g).
•   Mix on the lowest speed for 2 minutes with the paddle attachment.
•   Cover and let rest for 20 minutes.

Step 2.Wet Kneading
•   Mix on lowest speed for 8 minutes using the C-hook attachment
•   After 5 minutes add the remaining 25% of the flour (221g)
•   Increase the mixing speed to level 2 and mix for an additional 5 min
•   Check dough temperature for target range of 75-80°F then stop when reached
•   Let rest for 15 min