Author Topic: Dont know where to post this - so I figured OTHER - this is my recipe  (Read 2422 times)

Offline netdata

I apologize if this is not the appropriate topic area. I am new here so please don't flame me.

My name is Allen, I am a game designer from Florida, I am 28 years old, I have been cooking
and baking all my life, and I stumbled upon this forum. I didn't want to just troll so here goes:

I still remember when I was a kid and in the mid 80s getting a deep dish from Dominoes,
we were in Kentucky and dirt poor - too poor to pay attention - so poor we had to borrow
spit to chew. So we never got to have pizza very often, after that pizza it's been one of
my favorite things, its sad that you can't get them like that anymore, but anyways I digress.

As a computer jockey, pizza is a staple food.  I accidentally discovered this recipe, so I hope you like it,
its my own recipe so please don't take credit for it, I think it's sort of unique.

Backstory:

My fiancee is from New Mexico, her grandparents are from Mexico, they adopted her white dad
at a early age, so she has grown up enjoying all the foods New Mexico has to offer, especially
fresh delicious peppers of all varieties, and one of the foods she was accustomed to was the Sopapilla.

The Sopapilla is traditionally a dessert food, but in this recipe it will serve as our pizza crust.

The Recipe:

"The New Mexican"

The Crust:
Note: You can optionally add 1 packet of the quick active yeast as a slight variation of his recipe.

4 cups of bread or all purpose flour (depending on how you like your flour, you can also use noodle flour
if you prefer) I use Pillsbury Bread Flour
1 tsp Salt
2 tsp Baking Powder
4 Tablespoons Shortening (adjust according to texture preference always less but never more than 4)
1 1/2 cup very warm water
1 tsp olive oil (optional, I have found that it works with or without, recently I leave it out)