Author Topic: Dough needs more flavor...but i don't know what to try.  (Read 6570 times)

Offline XanderKane

Dough needs more flavor...but i don't know what to try.
« on: May 11, 2008, 01:56:26 PM »
I know thats pretty vague.  I've just recently got into pizza making in the last 6 months so I don't really know what I'm asking here.  I was hoping that some more experienced members might have suggestions or guidance.

Presently I'm liking the revised version the crust recipe that billneild posted about. (sorry it won't let me post a link to the thread since I'm a new member.)  Its basically just water, flour, salt, yeast and a bit of olive oil.  I really do like the crust quite a lot, but its kind of flavorless.  Does anyone have anything to suggest that I could try to give it a little something more?  I wish I knew what i was asking for exactly, but I'm a beginner. 

Thanks!

Offline Pizza_Not_War

Re: Dough needs more flavor...but i don't know what to try.
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2008, 02:19:27 PM »
I know thats pretty vague.  I've just recently got into pizza making in the last 6 months so I don't really know what I'm asking here.  I was hoping that some more experienced members might have suggestions or guidance.

Presently I'm liking the revised version the crust recipe that billneild posted about. (sorry it won't let me post a link to the thread since I'm a new member.)  Its basically just water, flour, salt, yeast and a bit of olive oil.  I really do like the crust quite a lot, but its kind of flavorless.  Does anyone have anything to suggest that I could try to give it a little something more?  I wish I knew what i was asking for exactly, but I'm a beginner. 

Thanks!

Start looking at the recipes on the forum that use a "poolish" as a first step. That should get you better flavor. Longer fermentation times, using the refrigerator will help. And if you want to really move up several levels than buy a starter from sourdo.com and get with the wild yeast program.