Author Topic: Tracking my batches  (Read 936 times)

Offline villosil

• Pi*z*z*a
Tracking my batches
« on: December 12, 2008, 01:22:55 PM »
Hello everybody,

I've been making doughs and pizzas for 3/4 months now. I have achieved better results lately with my doughs. My pizzas look now better than my first one, and they taste quite well. But I still want to improve my results. My problem is that after using so many formulations, procedures, flours, etc now I feel a little bit lost when I think what has helped to improve my dough. I would like to track every batch I do, to later check how was it, and compare it with other batches.

I saw once a post in this forum where one guy made some batches and he used a table to write the results and compare the different batches. I don't remember the post but I think that would be a good method for me so I have made some tables to help writing down my results.

http://docs.google.com/View?docid=dg6gkh2n_6gh6xs6jx

I put a first batch as an example.

The document shows a first table where general variables and results of the batch are indicated. I like to make doughs but I don't want to cook every dough I do, so I made the table thinking that I could not cook that dough so I have to rate the dough before going to the oven.

The second tables are for Formulations and Procedures. I separated these tables to simplify the first one.

Also I added a list of pictures to take everytime. Visual feeling would help to compare later on batches.

Have any of you made something similar to track your experiments?

Well, that's just my first version. I'm just a beginner so any suggestion would be great to improve the method for tracking batches. :)
« Last Edit: December 12, 2008, 01:24:26 PM by villosil »

Offline Bill/SFNM

• Lifetime Member
Re: Tracking my batches
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2008, 01:53:30 PM »

Have any of you made something similar to track your experiments?