Author Topic: Newbie needing help/suggestions  (Read 3342 times)

Offline snowdog

Newbie needing help/suggestions
« on: July 14, 2008, 03:29:13 PM »
Hi all,

Newbie here who just decide with in the last few days he wanted to learn how to start making his own pizzas  ;)

From youtube post I watched... (before I found this great forum...) I ran out and bought a pizza stone and a pizza slip from BB & B this weekend & made up four pizza's from recipe's I got off youtube...  they turned out good but not great.

Found this forum today & have been reading post here for the last 3 hours... I have been learning a ton...  ran out at lunch & bought my 1st digital scale - seeing I was going to need one for a dough recipe I want to try from one of Peter's post (Pete-zza)... I really like thin cracker style crust - though I may be confussed & like Neapolitan crust.. or is that just referring to toppings... I like it thin... hmmm...  :-[

Anyway here my question... if you were trying to make thin crust pizza dough & were going to be making say... two pies at a time (16") ... being a newbie & getting started... if these were one of your choices... would you...  try hand kneading the dough or buying a bread machine (so many selling on e-bay really cheap) or buy a used or refurb mixer like a KitchenAid Artisan at around $180 with dough hooks... to obtain a good dough to work with?

So much to learn... but looking forward to it !

thanks !
« Last Edit: July 14, 2008, 03:56:18 PM by snowdog »
glenn

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Newbie needing help/suggestions
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2008, 04:38:11 PM »
snowdog,