Author Topic: Starting Point for Neapolitan Dough  (Read 5524 times)

Offline Verace

Starting Point for Neapolitan Dough
« on: May 16, 2008, 11:40:25 PM »

Hey, guys.  Long time lurker - first time poster.  (Be gentle, this is my first time!)

I would appreciate any suggestions for a Neapolitan dough.  Having read through the posts on this board, I know this is a very open-ended question, so let me spell out some of the parameters.

Oven - I have a counter-top pizza oven similar to the Deni 2100.  Currently its max. temperature is 590˚ F.  It might be possible to modify the unit, as others have done to the Deni, but I was hoping to try with the oven's 590˚ F max to see if modification is really necessary.  That's because the thermostat on my unit is not as straightforward as the Deni.

Flour - I don't have access to Caputo, but I can get other flour:  Robin Hood All-Purpose Unbleached, which has a 12% protein content and a bread flour called Maple Leaf Mills Hickory with a hefty 14.6% protein.

Other - My mixer is a Kitchen-Aid and I do have an IR thermometer.

Experience - I have a fair bit of experience making bread, but my pizza forays are limited to a one-time attempt at Reinhart's Neapolitan dough from The Bread Baker's Apprentice.  That was made in a conventional oven at 550˚ F and the result was ho-hum.

I've looked at the dough formulations in this group and reading them was both fascinating and overwhelming.  Given the restrictions above, any suggestions for a starting point formulation would be appreciated.  Many thanks in advance!

Verace.

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: Starting Point for Neapolitan Dough
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2008, 09:18:27 AM »
Verace,