Author Topic: pizza crust way to hard and cruchy  (Read 2046 times)

Offline mpiasec

pizza crust way to hard and cruchy
« on: September 18, 2008, 07:16:39 PM »
I am new to pizza making and I would like to know what I did wrong with the dough.  I don't know what the exact formula is, as I have been experiencing with many.  I let my dough forment in the frig. for 2 days and on the counter for about 5 hrs. the dough was baked at 500 and the dough came out very hard without any pylabliliy....any response will be accepted.

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: pizza crust way to hard and cruchy
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2008, 07:49:34 PM »
mpiasec,

It is difficult to address your problem without knowing what recipe you used but it is possible that your dough did not contain enough water, or that the crust was too thin, or you baked the pizza too long. If you rolled out the dough using a rolling pin, that could also produce a finished crust that is firm. If you tell us what type of pizza you are trying to make (e.g., NY style, cracker style, etc.) and what ingredients you used to make your dough, it may be possible to add a few more comments.

Peter

Offline anton-luigi

« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2008, 03:40:08 PM »
5 hours on the counter seems like an awfully long time to let pizza dough rise doesnt it?  did it get over-risen? 

Offline Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2008, 05:06:21 PM »
5 hours on the counter seems like an awfully long time to let pizza dough rise doesnt it?  did it get over-risen? 

anton-luigi,