Author Topic: IDY ADY  (Read 1541 times)

Offline EJB

IDY ADY
« on: November 10, 2008, 01:40:16 PM »
Thanks entirely to this web site and the people who have helped me here I finally nailed it. After about 16 attempts I think I have it figured out. I was very surprised to learn the amount of precision needed to make pizza and the slight differences that seperate really good pizza from a disaster. But I'm still learning.

I am using the pizza dough calculator, using KABF at 63 % hydration with a TF of .095. My previous not so good attempts have been with IDY and the recent successes have been with ADY and I dont know if it's a coincidence because my attention to detail is better, which has surely made a difference, or if the ADY produces a better product.

What exactly is the difference and what do the pros use?

Online Pete-zza

• Lifetime Member
  • Global Moderator
  • Always learning
Re: IDY ADY
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 02:05:01 PM »
Ed,

Tom Lehmann, of the American Institute of Baking, once reported that they conducted tests using the same dough formulation but different forms of yeast: fresh yeast, active dry yeast (ADY) and instant dry yeast (IDY). They could not detect any differences in the final crusts.